U17 Hurlers win County Final

CCS are County Hurling Champions

CCS won the Corn O Laoghaire (Tipperary Post Primary Schools U 17B Hurling) in a brilliant game against Bossisokane Community School in Templemore. The North Tipp school started brightly and raced into an early 3 point lead, before Cashel responded with scores from Fearghaill O Donoghue(3), Rian Quigley and Conor O’ Dwyer. The intensity of the game was joy to see, with both teams giving everything for every ball. Playing with the brezze, Cashel edged in front with 3 Eoghan Connolly frees, leaving the half time score CCS 0.8 Borrisokane 0.5.
Borrisokane thundered back into the game in the 2nd half scoring 1.2 without reply to go in front again. The game had now become an arm wrestle and was being played at lightning fast pace. Mossy Skeffington, Rian Quigley and Eoghan Connolly (2) scored great points form play, to leave the game tied with only minutes remaining. Cashel defended brilliantly and then won two frees, which Connoly converted expertly, under pressure, to give Cashel victory on a 0.16 to 1.11 scoreline.
Every CCS player played their part and deserve huge credit for pulling off a hard fought win. Chris Geraghty in goals dealt with every ball safely, while the tigerish full back line of Derry Ormond, Shane Farrell and Mark Casey defended as if their lives depended on it all day long. The half backline of Ben Loughman, John Ryan and Lorcan Carr were brilliant all through, and cleared ball after ball.
At midfield CCS had captain Mark Downey and Eoghan Connolly, who both were superb, and stood up as massive leaders throughout this championship campaign. Every one of the Cashel forwards worked extremely hard to create and take scores and to pressurise the Borrisokane defenders.
Each member of this CCS panel should be proud of their efforts. There was huge work rate, discipline and commitment shown throughout this County Final and the other 3 victories on way to getting there. This young team worked very hard since January, coming in over Easter Holidays and at weekends to train and play challenge games. Congratulations and credit to coaches Brendan Ryan and Eoghan Ryan for their drive and commitment in having the panel well prepared so as to reap their deserved reward. Well done to all involved.
Team Chris Geraghty, 2 Derry Ormond, 3 Shane Farrell, 4 Mark Casey, 5 Ben Loughman, 6 John Ryan, 7 Lorcan Carr, 8 Mark Downey captain, 9 Eoghan Connolly 0.9 (0.7 frees), 10 Brian Og Ó’Dwyer, F. O Donoghue 0.3, 12 Mossy Skeffington 0.1, 13 Riain Quigley 0.2, 14 Aaron Browne, 15. Conor O Dwyer 0.1,Subs Niall O Dwyer, Jack Currivan, Charlie Costello, Conor Lowth, Conor Farrell, Niall Quaid, Luke Kevin and John Munane inj.