Rice Cup Blitz

A panel of 29 U-14 hurlers headed to Dr. Morris Park on Wednesday 14th March for the opening salvo of the annual Rice Cup competition, played in a blitz format. Cashel Community School played Carrick-on-Suir C.B.S. in the opening game and this closely contested game ended all square. Ard Scoil Ris, Limerick, were the next opponents and they proved too strong for the Cashel boys. Cashel C.S. were pitted against Doon C.B.S. in the third game and controlled the play to emerge convincing winners. Cashel then tackled Clonmel C.B.S. in the final game and the team from the county capital took the honour here.

All CCS panellists got their turn to play during the day and performed with strong spirit. Special mention must be made the displays by Nathan Ryan, Colm Hayde, James Walsh, Robert Wade, Cian O’Connell, Lee Barry and Ger Browne. The outcome for the panel is that they now progress to compete in the Westcourt Cup, where they should give a good account of themselves.

Panel: Shane Dwan, Conor Hickey, Ger Browne, Cian O’Connell, Nathan Ryan, Lee Barry, Victor Bourke, Jimmy Cawley, Cathal D’Arcy, Ciarán Davern, Brandon Duffy, Paddy Fahy, Steve Farrell, Philip Fogarty, Dylan Gubbins, Killian Hayde, Jonathan Keating, Nikki Kearns, Daniel Lonergan, Ronan Quinn, Jack Price, Colin Ryan, James Ryan, Kevin Tobin, Jonathan Wade, Robert Wade, Conor Walsh, James Walsh.