PJ Davern Cup


P.J. Davern Cup

This year’s First Year soccer finalists for the P.J. Davern Cup were 1.Nore and 1.Erne. The two sides had earned their place in the show-piece event by topping the league-style competition that had been played between all six class groups. The first half of this final was a tense and tight affair – possibly due to the big attendance and to blustery weather conditions.

The game sprang to life early in the second half when Padraig O’Carroll somehow cleared Ger Browne’s powerful free shot with a last gasp header on the line. At the other end of the field, Erne’s goalkeeper Colm Hayde smothered a good shot from Maxym Besh. Colm’s clearance found team-maate Pat Muldoon and his perfect pass put Daniel Hahessy through on Nore’s goal and he made no mistake with his strike. This score proved decisive, and Erne’s joint captains Ger Browne and Lisa Currivan received the cup from Mr. Morrissey.

Winning managers (from T.Y.) were Philip Falvey, Fionnain Ryan, Andy Ely and Tadhg Fogarty. A word of thanks to Jimmy Walsh and Martin Coleman for refereeing all the matches, to A&M office supplies, and to the competition’s main sponsor Joe Aherne, Rock House restaurant, Cashel.