First Year Hurlers

The Community School’s First Year hurlers claimed the Sciath Ui Chathain in good style on Tuesday 25th January. The semi-finals and final of this County Tipperary schools competition for First Years were played at Dr. Morris Park. The competition was run during the autumn as a series of blitzes. The Cashel boys made good use of this format and improved greatly in the course of the series.

In the semi-final, Cashel faced a stiff challenge from St. Joseph’s, Newport, who had come out on top when they met earlier in the series. This time the half-time score of one goal to one point in favour of CCS reflected the closeness of the contest. It was not until Cashel secured a third goal near the end that the outcome was safe. Final score: Cashel 3- 1, Newport 0 – 1.

Borrisokane were Cashel’s opponents in the final. The Cashel boys asserted superiority in the first half, being ahead by 2 – 4 to 1 – 2 at half-time. With the aid of a light breeze, they built on this advantage throughout the second half, eventually winning by 5 – 11 to 1 – 2.

In the course of the semi-final and final, all members of the panel played and each one contributed handsomely. They now turn their sights towards the Rice Cup and/or Westcourt Cup.

Panel: Conor Hickey, Alex Purcell, Nathan Ryan, Nickey Kearns, Jim Ryan, Niall Manton, Diarmuid Quinlan, Michael Ryan (W.), Paudie O’Carroll (capt.), Declan O’Dwyer, Michael O’Sullivan, Colm Hayde, Ger Browne, Aidan Carroll, Evan Dwan, Fionn Bonnar, Shane Dwan, Cathal Fogarty, Eoin Hand, Aaron Lawrence, Michael Moloney, Pat Muldoon, Cian O’Connell, Padraig Palmer.