CCS triumph in Munster u16 1/2

CCS triumph in Munster U16.5


Cashel Community School recorded an impressive win on Wednesday last in Rathbane, Limerick in the 1st Round of Munster u16.5B Munster Hurling Championship against Rice College Ennis. The first twenty minutes were very even with both sides trading scores. Cashel had good points from play from Conor O Dwyer, Michael O’ Connor, Jamie Duncan and an excellent James Murphy goal. Rice College were keeping in touch with points from frees. The final ten minutes saw CCS adjust their team, and they stopped the concession of frees.  Points from Daniel Moloney(3), Jaymes O Sullivan and James Murphy put daylight between the sides at half time, with CCS leading 1.11 to 0.7 after a good 1st of hurling.

A big moment in the game came five minutes into the 2nd half, when after scoring an early point, Rice College won a penalty. However CCS goalie Jack Breen made an excellent save, leaving the Cashel boys six points up rather than just three up. Cashel then hurled excellently to stretch out the lead with points from midfielder Cathal Quinn(2), Conor O’ Dwyer and James Murphy, before Murphy raced through from the 45 yard line, threw an excellent dummy to go around the last defender before burying his 2nd goal. Jaymes O’ Sullivan scored the final point of the game to see CCS through comfortably 2.21 to 0.9. This was a good team performance from all CCS players who started or were introduced. This victory sees Cashel through to the Munster 1/4 Final against North Mon of Cork on Monday October 15th. Well done to this large panel of players who have worked hard with coaches B. Ryan and S. Carr, and best wishes in the 1/4 Final.


Team: Jack Breen, Eoghan Murphy, Ben Loughman, Ned Ryan, Callum Lawrence, Brian Óg O’Dwyer, Jack Ryan, Jamie Duncan (0.1), Cathal Quinn 0.2, Daniel Moloney 0.3, Conor O’ Dwyer 0.8 (0.5 frees), Jaymes O Sullivan 0.2, Kevin Cleary (Capt) 0.1, James Murphy 2.3 (0.1 free) Michael O Conner. Subs used Ross Whelan, Tom Fogarty, Lee Glesson, Dion Glesson and Adam Ryan. Also Darragh Lacey, Sean Ryan, Herman O Donoghue, Alex Dunne, Cormac Casey, Kyle Burke, Adam Gallagher, Eoin Mologhney, Kieran O Donnell, Evan Moloney, Cormac Carr, Michael Quinlan inj, and Donal Ryan inj.